Thankfulness Pondering

“Thankfulness – feeling or expressing gratitude; appreciative.” 

It is amazing to me that some people do not seem to understand the simplicity of ‘thankfulness’. Maybe they are able to feel gratitude, but if that is the case, isn’t it then a natural next step to express that in some way?

Now, I am not saying I am somebody who finds expressing myself an easy thing most of the time – I do not. I am not somebody who says ‘thank you’ willy-nilly. However, I am able to know when I should say or show that I appreciate something or someone.

When I need to ask for help from a friend and they step up to the mark, I thank them and make sure they know I am grateful. When a colleague makes my volunteers their cup of tea because I need 5 minutes peace and quiet, I thank them and make sure they know I am grateful. When a friend changes their plans for me, I thank them and make sure they know I am grateful. When somebody helps me fix my car or build some flatpack furniture, I thank them and make sure they know I am grateful.

We don’t just feel grateful – we express that. Why? We don’t express these feelings for us, to make us feel better. We do it for the other person, to make sure they feel and know they are appreciated.

Thanking people and showing that we am grateful isn’t just through words. In fact, often for me it isn’t. It’s the chocolate bar snuck in their pocket, the hug, the offer of a cuppa, the smile, the post-it note on their desk, the knowing nod… None of these things are difficult to do, yet they all add up to help me say ‘thank you’, ‘I appreciate what you’ve done for me’, ‘I am grateful’.

So my pondering today, I guess, is more of a challenge – for us to stop and realise when we should show we are thankful for something or someone. You never know how you are effecting somebody else’s day so please treat them kindly.

Leave a Reply

