Lent Observations 15

I had a trip to the local recycling centre today (thrilling, I know!) and I was amazed how many people were there. There was only just space for my little car between everyone else’s full cars. We throw away so much in our society. Yes, a lot of it at that centre is being recycled, but I wonder why we feel the need to have so much in the first place that we need to get rid of it in one way or another.

It’s moments like this that I’m glad I work somewhere that gives just some of these items a second chance of life, as the item they are designed to be. We aren’t turning unwanted sheets and duvet covers in to clothes made of recycled material – we are keeping them as sheets and duvet covers.

Why do we need so much? Why do we then throw so much away?

Leave a Reply

