Part 1: Love is stronger than hate

Saturday 25th June 2016 – London Pride

In one short day, I witnessed a lot. I witnessed the world in a way I haven’t witnessed it before. Every day I witness the world in new ways, people in new ways, God in new ways. Today was definitely one of those occasional days when I witnessed more than an average day. My list of things to write about is long, and I am not sure how many I will include here. Maybe a few, maybe a lot – it will depend on how I feel as I type. But it feels important to write and to share just a glimpse of what today was like in Lorna’s Little Life.

THE BEGINNING

The first noteworthy thing was actually on the Friday night, a few hours before the big day began. The past few weeks have been full of ups and downs, from the Orlando nightclub shooting to the political landscape shifting with the EU referendum and everything else in between. It has not been an easy couple of weeks for the world as a whole. As I walked through London with three of my amazing friends, others continued on their working days. This man here, for example…                   As we walked down Oxford Street and Regent Street earlier in the day, we spotted and chatted about the flags over the streets. The rows of British flags. The rows of rainbow flags. The occasional ‘Ox. St’ flag between British flags. The occasional British flag between rainbow flags. And as we came along after dinner, this guy was busy loosening this middle British flag. As he worked away, I caught myself seemingly very glad to see it come down, and glad to see it *I hoped* replaced with a rainbow flag. And, right enough, that’s exactly what he did. As the British flat literally fell out of his hands, the rainbow flag began to fly proud.

   

I didn’t realise until that moment how much the EU referendum had influenced my thinking, had got my brain working, had challenged all that I know about my home country/countries, had made me feel even more Scottish and maybe a little less British as I challenge my political views, with and versus the rest of Britain. I was glad to see the rainbow flag there. I was proud. It was flying proud above everyone below. It deserved to be flying for those in Orlando, and for those around the world no matter what their political stance who struggle to live their daily life just for being themselves. That flag, to me, made far more of a positive impact in this political landscape than any countries flag could do. Gay or straight, man or woman, bisexual or asexual – this flag symbolises uniting. I was not convinced as I watched those flags be swapped over that the British flag did symbolise uniting – not at this time at least.

To be continued…

 

Leave a Reply

