Part 3: Love is stronger than evil

…continued from parts 1 and 2.

COMFORTABLE AND ACCEPTED?

As communion was drawing to an end, only a few people left to be served, an older man receives communion and then waits quietly to one side. The man behind him follows, receives communion and then steps to the side to take the other mans hand. Together they walk down the side aisle, around the back of the pews and back to their seats side by side.

As the hymn was being sung, surrounded by love and faith, a younger woman takes her arm and puts it gently around her girlfriends waist. She continues to sing and within the space of less than 10 seconds removes her arm and places it back by her side. They stand side by side singing.

As this all goes on in front of my eyes, I am pondering what these two separate couples are going through today. From the pride march to this pride church service. From hundreds of thousands of people out on the streets to the two-hundred or so in the church. From the public eye to the enclosed space.

I pondered upon which felt safer to them; more supportive, more comfortable, more accepting.

I pondered on the older male couples boldness of just being together.

I pondered on the younger female couples timidness of just being together.

I pondered on what it is that makes certain people more comfortable in one situation or another. I pondered on whether or not this is how they always are together, or whether or not this church environment brought it out in them. I pondered on if church felt safer to the older couple or if they were just more used to life together. I pondered on if the church felt less safe to the younger couple or if they were just less used to life together. I pondered if either of the couples were fearful, were wary, were uncomfortable, were cautious. I pondered if either of the couples were unafraid, were at ease, were comfortable, were feeling free.

I still ponder. Pondering is good. I wonder if everyone else ponders on such tiny moments as I do. I wonder if everyone else even notices these tiny moments like I do. The little things make the world of difference.

Leave a Reply

